Tyler Junior College builds its baking and pastry training as three nested credentials on the Central Campus in Tyler. The 22-credit Basic Baking and Pastry Certificate covers the first two semesters, the Advanced Baking and Pastry Certificate adds two more for a 45-credit total, and the 60-credit Baking and Pastry AAS includes both certificates plus general education.
All three are selective admissions programs. TJC’s program information sheet describes day classes taught as a cohort with no more than 24 students, and the pastry sequence includes a cooperative education course that pairs classroom learning with supervised work experience at an employer. Details below come from the 2026–27 TJC Catalog and the college’s Fall 2026 tuition schedule.
Quick Facts
| Category | Details |
|---|---|
| School | Tyler Junior College |
| Location | Tyler, Texas; Central Campus |
| Credentials | Culinary Arts: Baking and Pastry, AAS; Advanced Baking and Pastry, Certificate; Basic Baking and Pastry, Certificate |
| Credits | 60; 45 (including the basic certificate); or 22 |
| Length | Four semesters; four semesters; or two semesters in the catalog sequences |
| Admission | Separate selective admissions application |
| Class format | Daytime cohort, 24-student maximum |
Baking and Pastry Program Options
TJC lists all of its credentials on the Culinary Arts program page. The baking credentials are stacked: every course in the basic certificate is part of the advanced certificate, and every course in both certificates is part of the AAS.
Culinary Arts: Baking and Pastry, AAS
The Baking and Pastry AAS requires 45 major credits and 15 general education credits. The catalog’s four-semester sequence mixes pastry labs with composition, math, speech, a language, philosophy, and culture elective, and a social and behavioral sciences elective. The degree also introduces food service management topics, including supervision, menu management, and cost control.
Advanced Baking and Pastry Certificate
The Advanced Baking and Pastry Certificate requires completion of the basic certificate, then 23 more credits over two semesters. It covers plated desserts, petit fours and small tarts for receptions, classical European tortes, and chocolates and confections. Students need to be TSI complete in reading and writing, and the 45-credit total counts the basic certificate.
Basic Baking and Pastry Certificate
The Basic Baking and Pastry Certificate is a two-semester, 22-credit program for entry-level bakery jobs. The catalog lists lean and rich yeast doughs, cookies, muffins, croissants and Danish, and American cake decorating with rolled fondant and two-tier cakes. It is TSI exempt.
Curriculum and Baking Courses
The 2026–27 catalog lists these baking and pastry courses across the three credentials:
- Fundamentals of Baking and Breads and Rolls (3 credits each, basic certificate)
- Cake Decorating I (2 credits, basic certificate) and Cake Decorating II (3 credits, advanced certificate)
- Pies, Tarts, Teacakes and Cookies (2 credits, advanced certificate)
- Chocolates and Confections, covering truffles, marzipan, caramels, nougats, and pâte de fruit (3 credits)
- Advanced Pastry Shop (3 credits)
- Cooperative Education in Baking and Pastry Arts (3 credits, with 20 lab hours a week)
- Supporting courses in sanitation, basic food preparation, nutrition, menu management, hospitality supervision, beverage management, and food service management
Most pastry courses require Fundamentals of Baking with a C or better. In the 2026–27 catalog, Cake Decorating II lists PSTR 1306 as its prerequisite, while the program plans use Cake Decorating I (PSTR 1206). Students should ask an advisor to confirm the sequence.
Tuition and Additional Costs
TJC’s Fall 2026 tuition schedule lists tuition of $37 per credit for district residents, $40 plus a $60 surcharge for out-of-district Texans, and $65 plus a $60 surcharge for non-residents. All students pay a $42 general education fee and a $15 technology fee per credit, plus a $2 student life fee per credit up to $26. Each semester also brings a $35 health service fee, a $45 registration fee, and a $40 campus security fee. The estimates below add TJC’s published semester totals for each credit load in the catalog sequences:
| Program | Credits | Estimated in-district tuition and fees | Estimated out-of-district tuition and fees | Estimated out-of-state tuition and fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baking and Pastry AAS (4 semesters) | 60 | $6,224 | $10,004 | $11,504 |
| Advanced Baking and Pastry Certificate (4 semesters, including basic) | 45 | $4,798 | $7,633 | $8,758 |
| Basic Baking and Pastry Certificate (2 semesters) | 22 | $2,352 | $3,738 | $4,288 |
These totals include tuition and general fees only. They do not include course fees, books, uniforms, the knife kit, or living costs. TJC had posted only Fall 2026 rates when this was written, so spring figures could differ.
Course fees are listed with each course in the catalog. Culinary courses carry a $12 per credit differential fee, most lab courses add a $28 per credit high-cost course fee, and a few charge supply fees: $175 for Fundamentals of Baking, $278 for Breads and Rolls, $191 for Basic Food Preparation, and $107 each for Hospitality Supervision and Beverage Management. Based on the catalog’s course fee listings, these add about $1,519 to the basic certificate and $2,462 to the advanced certificate or AAS. TJC’s program information sheet also requires students to buy uniforms and a knife kit.
Admissions and Financial Aid
Students first apply to TJC, then submit a separate Culinary Arts selective admissions application. The program information sheet asks for a current food handler permit and one letter of recommendation, ideally from a food service professional or high school culinary instructor, and requires attendance at a program information session. TJC posts application deadlines through the program.
TJC does not state Pell eligibility for each baking credential. Students who plan to use federal aid should confirm eligibility with the financial aid office, particularly for the 22-credit certificate.
Career Preparation and Transfer Considerations
The basic certificate is aimed at entry-level bakery work, while the advanced certificate is described as preparation for specialization in bakeries. The AAS adds supervision, menu management, and cost control, and TJC’s program sheet says the program also requires 120 hours of documented back-of-house experience. The college does not state ACF accreditation for these programs.
TJC has an articulation agreement that sends the Culinary Arts AAS into Texas Tech’s Restaurant, Hotel and Institutional Management BAAS. The college does not list a similar agreement for the Baking and Pastry AAS, so students with bachelor’s plans should ask how their credits would apply.
Which TJC Pathway May Fit You?
| Pathway | May fit students who want |
|---|---|
| Basic Baking and Pastry Certificate | Two semesters of breads, laminated doughs, and cake decorating without TSI requirements |
| Advanced Baking and Pastry Certificate | Chocolates, plated desserts, European tortes, and work experience after the basic certificate |
| Baking and Pastry AAS | Both certificates plus management coursework and general education in one degree |
Questions to Ask Before Applying
- When are information sessions held, and which semesters admit new cohorts?
- What do the required uniform and knife kit cost?
- How is the cooperative education placement arranged, and how many hours does it require outside class?
- Is Cake Decorating I the correct prerequisite for Cake Decorating II?
- Is each baking credential eligible for Pell Grant funding?
Program details and costs can change. Confirm current requirements with Tyler Junior College before applying.