Technical College of the Lowcountry runs its baking programs at the Culinary Institute of the South, a 30,305-square-foot training facility in Bluffton’s Buckwalter Place. The building has a dedicated baking lab alongside two teaching kitchens, a teaching restaurant called The Bistro, and a grab-and-go café. Two baking credentials are listed in the 2026–27 catalog: a 70-credit Baking and Pastry Arts AAS and a 22-credit Baking and Pastry Arts Certificate.
Both are built on the same lab courses, so the certificate works as the first two semesters of baking coursework in the degree. The AAS adds hospitality business courses and ends with a course the catalog calls Advanced Stagerie. Cost figures here use TCL’s published rates for Fall 2026 through Summer 2027.
Quick Facts
| Category | Details |
|---|---|
| School | Technical College of the Lowcountry |
| Location | Bluffton, South Carolina; Culinary Institute of the South, 1 Venture Drive |
| Credentials | Baking and Pastry Arts, AAS; Baking and Pastry Arts Certificate |
| Credits | 70 or 22 |
| Length | Six terms, including two summers, in the AAS sample pathway; two semesters for the certificate |
| Admission | Free online application; the college states it is testing optional |
| General education | The college says these courses can be taken at any campus or online |
Baking and Pastry Program Options
The college lists its culinary credentials together on the Culinary Arts and Hospitality pathway page. Baking and pastry courses are taught in Bluffton, not at the Beaufort Mather, New River, or Hampton campuses.
Baking and Pastry Arts, AAS
The Baking and Pastry Arts AAS requires 19 credits of general education, 48 credits of required major courses, and a 3-credit major elective. The sample pathway runs fall (16 credits), spring (15), summer (6), fall (15), spring (15), and a final summer (3). Nine baking labs are required, and the rest of the major covers purchasing, dining room service, cost controls, and menu planning.
Baking and Pastry Arts Certificate
The Baking and Pastry Arts Certificate is a 22-credit Certificate in Applied Science. Its sample curriculum places 10 credits in fall and 12 in spring, and the college’s program page says it can be completed in as little as two full-time semesters. All eight courses also appear in the AAS.
Related: Healthy Cooking and Baking Certificate
TCL also lists a 24-credit Healthy Cooking and Baking Certificate. The catalog classifies it under the Culinary Arts major, and only two of its eight courses are baking courses (Introduction to Baking and Healthy Baking), so it is mainly a cooking credential.
Curriculum and Baking Courses
Every BKP course in the 2026–27 catalog is 3 credits, with two lecture hours and three lab hours a week. Courses in the two programs include:
- Introduction to Baking and Pastry, the entry lab for both credentials
- Introduction to Cakes and Decorating (both), followed by Advanced Cakes (AAS)
- Hot and Cold Desserts, covering ice cream, sorbets, soufflés, crepes, and hand-stretched strudel
- Candies and Confectionaries, covering chocolate, sugar, pastillage, and marzipan
- Artisan Breads, using sponges, wild yeast, bigas, and poolish
- Plated Desserts, Healthy Baking, and the Baking and Pastry Capstone, where students run a retail bakery (AAS)
- One AAS elective, with options that include Laminated Doughs and Pastries, Chocolate and Sugar, and Wedding Cakes and Decorating Techniques
- Success in Hospitality Studies (1 credit), Storeroom and Purchasing, and The Hospitality Industry (both credentials)
Introduction to Baking and Pastry is the prerequisite for most later labs, and it lists The Hospitality Industry as its own prerequisite. The sample plans place both courses in the first fall semester, so new students should confirm how they are scheduled. The capstone requires instructor approval.
Tuition and Additional Costs
TCL’s tuition and fees page sets 2026–27 tuition at $228 per credit for service-area residents (Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton, and Jasper counties), $253 per credit for other South Carolina residents, and $474 per credit for non-residents. The college also applies the $253 rate to Chatham and Effingham counties in Georgia. Every student pays a $22 per credit TCL Course Ready fee, a $100 student fee and a $50 technology fee each semester, and a course fee of $15 per credit for general education courses or $20 per credit for technical courses. The schedule has no full-time cap through 18 credits. These estimates follow the catalog’s term counts and treat 15 AAS credits as general education courses:
| Program | Credits | Estimated service-area tuition and fees | Estimated other South Carolina tuition and fees | Estimated non-resident tuition and fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baking and Pastry Arts, AAS (6 terms) | 70 | $19,725 | $21,475 | $36,945 |
| Baking and Pastry Arts Certificate (2 semesters) | 22 | $6,240 | $6,790 | $11,652 |
The estimates are before financial aid. They leave out books, uniforms, tools, and any course-specific fees. TCL says specific fees ranging from $100 to $685 are applied to certain classes for consumables and equipment, sometimes in place of the standard course fee, and it does not list which baking labs carry them.
Admissions and Financial Aid
Applicants follow TCL’s enrollment steps: choose a program, submit the online application, file the FAFSA, set up college accounts, complete online orientation, and send high school or GED and any college transcripts. The admissions page describes the online application as free, and the college states it is testing optional for admission.
TCL notes that Pell Grants depend on income, while South Carolina Lottery Tuition Assistance and SC WINS depend on factors such as residency, GPA, and program of study. The college does not state on its baking pages whether either credential qualifies for SC WINS, and students who enroll as undecided or non-degree are not eligible for aid or lottery assistance.
Career Preparation and Transfer Considerations
The catalog describes both credentials as preparation for work as professional bakers and pastry specialists in restaurants and commercial baking establishments, with instruction in product packaging, marketing, and counter display and service. The AAS adds business coursework and an internship. TCL does not state American Culinary Federation accreditation for the baking programs.
TCL does not publish a transfer agreement specific to Baking and Pastry Arts, so students with bachelor’s plans should ask which general education courses to choose.
Which TCL Pathway May Fit You?
| Pathway | May fit students who want |
|---|---|
| Baking and Pastry Arts Certificate | Two semesters of bread, cake, dessert, and confection labs with a short hospitality core |
| Baking and Pastry Arts, AAS | Advanced cakes, plated desserts, a retail bakery capstone, an internship, and hospitality business courses |
Questions to Ask Before Applying
- Which baking labs carry a specific fee, and how much is each one?
- What uniforms and tools are required, and what do they cost?
- How are The Hospitality Industry and Introduction to Baking and Pastry scheduled in the first semester?
- Are baking labs offered in the day, the evening, or both, and can I start in spring?
- Is the Baking and Pastry Arts Certificate eligible for Pell Grants and SC WINS?
- Where do Advanced Stagerie placements usually take place?
Program details and costs can change. Confirm current requirements with Technical College of the Lowcountry before applying.