Northampton Community College (NCC) teaches baking and pastry as its own evening program on the Bethlehem campus, separate from the college’s Culinary Arts degree. The Baking and Pastry Specialized Diploma is a 25-credit credential built from eight BAKE lab courses and a one-credit College Success course, and it is the only baking credential in the catalog.
The program admits one group a year. NCC’s 2026–27 program map calls it a fall-start-only program with limited seating, with coursework offered in two consecutive semesters. Students also earn ServSafe Manager certification in the first course and must hold it to continue. Details below come from the 2026–27 catalog, the program map updated in June 2026, and NCC’s 2026–27 tuition and fee tables.
Quick Facts
| Category | Details |
|---|---|
| School | Northampton Community College |
| Location | Bethlehem, Pennsylvania; Bethlehem campus |
| Credential | Baking and Pastry, Specialized Diploma |
| Total credits | 25 (13 in fall, 12 in spring) |
| Length | Two consecutive semesters in the catalog and program map |
| Entry | Fall only, limited seating |
| Schedule | Evening classes, Tuesday through Friday, per the catalog |
| Built-in certification | ServSafe Manager, completed in BAKE101 |
Baking and Pastry Program Options
NCC describes the diploma on its Baking and Pastry program page. The college lists no baking degree or second baking certificate.
Baking and Pastry, Specialized Diploma
The catalog entry places the diploma in the School of Business and Industry and describes it as preparation for entry-level positions in the baking and pastry industry. Students take four accelerated baking courses each semester, and the catalog says fall and spring 14-week classes meet on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday evenings. The one stated program requirement is attending the Baking and Pastry Orientation on the first day of class.
NCC’s sources describe the pace differently. The catalog calls the diploma a two-semester, full-time evening program, and the program map states the coursework can only be completed in two consecutive semesters. The program web page instead lists three semesters and describes part-time study on evenings and weekends over about a year. Applicants should confirm the current schedule with the program before enrolling.
Continuing Into Culinary Arts
NCC’s Culinary Arts program offers a 47-credit specialized diploma and a 71-credit AAS. The program map sets out equivalencies in one direction: students who have finished the first semester of Culinary Arts may be able to transfer in up to 9 credits, with CULA104, CULA110, and CULA112 standing in for BAKE101, BAKE110, and BAKE125. The map does not say how BAKE credits apply toward a culinary credential.
Curriculum and Baking Courses
The 2026–27 program map lists nine courses, taken in this order:
- College Success (1 credit, fall)
- Baking and Pastry Fundamentals (3 credits, fall), which includes the ServSafe Manager exam
- Introduction to Baking and Pastry (3 credits, fall)
- Introduction to Culinary Arts (3 credits, fall)
- Artisan Breads and Rolls (3 credits, fall)
- Advanced Baking and Pastry Techniques (3 credits, spring)
- Classic Cakes and Tortes (3 credits, spring)
- Cookies and Petite Desserts (3 credits, spring)
- Plated Desserts (3 credits, spring)
The baking courses form a single chain. Each one lists the course before it as a prerequisite, along with the ServSafe Manager certificate, so a student who misses or fails a course cannot simply pick up the next one. The map numbers Plated Desserts as BAKE265, while the program page and fee list show BAKE165.
Tuition and Additional Costs
NCC’s 2026–27 tuition and fees page charges a flat rate to students registered for 12–18 credits, and both diploma semesters fall in that range. The flat rate is $3,105 a semester for residents of sponsoring Northampton County school districts ($2,100 tuition, $450 comprehensive fee, $555 technology fee). It is $4,725 for Monroe County residents, $6,285 for other Pennsylvania residents, and $8,385 for out-of-state students, each of which adds a capital outlay fee. Two semesters at those rates:
| Program | Credits | Estimated Northampton County tuition and fees | Estimated Monroe County tuition and fees | Estimated other Pennsylvania county tuition and fees | Estimated out-of-state tuition and fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baking and Pastry Specialized Diploma (2 semesters) | 25 | $6,210 | $9,450 | $12,570 | $16,770 |
These totals cover tuition and the comprehensive, technology, and capital outlay fees. They leave out course fees, the one-time $50 matriculation fee for new students, books, uniforms, and tools. Students below 12 credits in a semester pay per credit instead: $207 for sponsoring-district residents, $315 for Monroe County, $419 for other Pennsylvania counties, and $559 for out-of-state students.
NCC’s academic fee list shows a $175 fee on each of the eight BAKE courses and $13 on College Success, which comes to $1,413 across the diploma. The college’s out-of-pocket expense estimates list $465 for Culinary Arts but give no figure for Baking and Pastry, so uniform and tool costs should be requested from the program.
Admissions and Financial Aid
NCC describes its application as free and completed online, with official high school transcripts submitted afterward. The program map states that this diploma does not require English or math placement, although placement may be needed later for students who go on to another degree. With one fall start and limited seating, early application is sensible, and the college posts its enrollment dates.
Prior learning can shorten the path. Besides the culinary equivalencies, the program map says students who completed baking and pastry instruction at the secondary level are evaluated case by case for equivalent credit. NCC does not state on its program pages whether this 25-credit diploma qualifies for Pell Grants or other federal aid, so students should confirm eligibility with the financial aid office.
Career Preparation and Transfer Considerations
The catalog lists pastry cook, baker, baker’s assistant, assistant pastry chef, wedding cake designer, and bakery or pâtisserie owner or operator as career possibilities. Training takes place in NCC’s commercial kitchens, and the program page also points to Hampton Winds, the college’s student-run restaurant. NCC does not state American Culinary Federation accreditation for the diploma.
Who May Find This Diploma a Good Fit?
| Student goal | How the program may fit |
|---|---|
| Train while working days | The catalog schedules classes on weekday evenings |
| Finish in one academic year | The program map runs fall and spring back to back |
| Focus on baking only | Eight of the nine courses are BAKE labs, with no general education beyond College Success |
| Add baking to culinary training | First-semester Culinary Arts students may transfer in up to 9 credits |
Questions to Ask Before Applying
- Is the diploma currently scheduled over two semesters or three, and does any class meet on weekends?
- Will I be billed the full-time flat rate in both semesters?
- What uniforms and tools are required, and what do they cost?
- What happens if I do not pass one course in the sequence?
- Is the diploma eligible for federal financial aid?
Program details and costs can change. Confirm current requirements with Northampton Community College before applying.