West Georgia Technical College Baking and Pastry Certificate

West Georgia Technical College offers its Baking and Pastry Specialist Certificate (BA51) at more than one location. The college’s July 2026 program-by-campus lists include the certificate at the Douglas Campus in Douglasville, the LaGrange Campus, and the Central Educational Center (CEC) instructional site in Newnan.

The 2026–27 catalog sets a minimum of 26 credits for the certificate. Its courses also appear in the college’s Culinary Arts Diploma, so a student can treat the certificate as a stand-alone baking credential or as an early step toward the longer culinary program. Residents of three nearby Alabama counties also qualify for West Georgia Tech’s in-state tuition rate.

Quick Facts

CategoryDetails
SchoolWest Georgia Technical College
CampusDouglas Campus (Douglasville), LaGrange Campus, and CEC instructional site (Newnan), Georgia
CredentialBaking and Pastry Specialist Certificate (BA51)
LengthNot stated in the catalog; cost estimates below assume two semesters
Credits26 minimum
FormatCampus-based, with hands-on kitchen coursework
Program areaCulinary Arts, School of Public Safety and Professional Services

Baking and Pastry Program Options

West Georgia Tech has one baking-specific credential. Its Culinary Arts program page lists the Baking and Pastry Specialist certificate next to three other short certificates (Catering Specialist, Prep Cook, and Food Production Worker), a Culinary Arts Diploma, and a Culinary Arts AAS degree.

Baking and Pastry Specialist Certificate (BA51)

The BA51 catalog page describes the certificate as training for bakery or pastry shop workers, commercial bakers, and pastry chefs. The plan combines one math course with five CHEF courses: culinary safety and sanitation, a six-credit principles of cooking course, and three baking courses that move from Baking Principles I to Advanced Baking Principles.

According to the college’s available programs by campus lists, revised July 16, 2026, the certificate is offered at the Douglas Campus (4600 Timber Ridge Drive, Douglasville), the LaGrange Campus, and the CEC site at 160 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive in Newnan. The college does not say whether every location runs the full course sequence each term.

How the Certificate Connects to Culinary Arts

The Culinary Arts Diploma (CA44) requires at least 51 credits. MATH 1012, CHEF 1110, CHEF 1120, and CHEF 1500 are part of its required coursework, while Baking Principles II and Advanced Baking Principles appear in its list of occupational electives. The diploma adds work such as garde manger, contemporary cuisine, menu development, nutrition, and restaurant operations.

Students who want a broader culinary credential should ask an advisor how both advanced baking courses would count toward the diploma, since the diploma’s elective requirement is a minimum of three credits.

Curriculum and Baking Courses

The 2026–27 BA51 plan totals 26 credits and covers these areas:

  • Culinary safety and sanitation (CHEF 1110, 3 credits)
  • Principles of cooking (CHEF 1120, 6 credits)
  • Baking Principles I (CHEF 1500, 5 credits)
  • Baking Principles II (CHEF 2001, 3 credits)
  • Advanced Baking Principles (CHEF 2250, 6 credits)
  • Foundations of Mathematics (MATH 1012, 3 credits)

Twenty-three of the 26 credits are CHEF courses, and 14 of those are baking-specific. The catalog does not publish a term-by-term sequence for the certificate, so students should build a plan with an advisor at the location they intend to attend.

Tuition and Additional Costs

For 2026–27, West Georgia Tech charges $107 per credit for in-state students and $214 per credit for out-of-state students, with tuition charged up to 15 credits per semester. The college also charges $421 in mandatory fees each semester: registration ($75), student activity ($60), accident insurance ($6), instructional support ($60), technology support ($110), facilities ($50), and campus safety ($60).

The catalog does not state how many semesters the certificate takes. The estimates below assume two semesters of mandatory fees:

ProgramCreditsEstimated in-state tuition and feesEstimated out-of-state tuition and fees
Baking and Pastry Specialist Certificate (BA51)26$3,624$6,406

These figures multiply 26 credits by the per-credit rate and add $842 in mandatory fees for two semesters. They do not include the one-time $25 application fee, the $45 late registration fee, textbooks, uniforms, tools, housing, or transportation. A third semester would add another $421 in fees.

The 2026–27 tuition and fees page states that students must buy the books, tools, uniforms, and equipment their program requires. It does not list culinary among the programs charged the college’s $40 per-term lab fee, and it does not publish uniform or knife kit prices for BA51. Residents of Chambers, Cleburne, and Randolph counties in Alabama are treated as in-state for admission and tuition purposes, provided they document lawful presence.

Admissions and Financial Aid

Applicants apply to West Georgia Tech through the college’s general admission process and pay a one-time $25 application fee. The program page links to the online application and to program completion checklists for the diploma and degree.

The college’s HOPE Career Grant list does not include Culinary Arts programs, so BA51 students should not plan on that award. Eligibility for the HOPE Grant, Pell Grant, or other aid for this certificate should be confirmed with the financial aid office before enrolling.

Career Preparation and Transfer Considerations

The catalog names bake shop assistants, pastry shop employees, and working pastry chefs as target jobs for certificate completers. The certificate is a short occupational credential, and its course plan does not include a practicum or externship course.

Students who want more than baking can continue into the Culinary Arts Diploma or AAS. The AAS is an applied degree, so anyone considering a bachelor’s program later should ask the receiving college how West Georgia Tech credits would transfer.

Which West Georgia Tech Pathway May Fit You?

PathwayMay fit students who want
Baking and Pastry Specialist CertificateA 26-credit baking-focused credential at Douglasville, LaGrange, or the Newnan CEC site
Culinary Arts DiplomaBroader kitchen, menu, and restaurant training, with room for baking electives
Culinary Arts AASThe longest culinary option, adding general education to the technical coursework

Questions to Ask Before Applying

  • Which location will run CHEF 2001 and CHEF 2250 during my planned semesters?
  • Is the CEC site in Newnan open to adult students for this certificate, or mainly to high school students?
  • How many semesters does a typical full-time BA51 student need?
  • What uniforms, knife kits, and tools must I buy, and what do they cost?
  • Will both advanced baking courses count toward the Culinary Arts Diploma?
  • What documents do Chambers, Cleburne, or Randolph county residents need for in-state tuition?

Program details and costs can change. Confirm current requirements with West Georgia Technical College before applying.

Related Programs